Please Don’t… – K.Will

Source: http://24-7kpop.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/kwill.jpg

Wow, it has been forever since a K.Will song. (Actually, did he not released a song sometime in May or June?). I know this video just came out, like so many videos, just as soon as I saw the music video, I was smacked in the face. Can you believe the twist? I was like, OMFG! Anyway, to a more serious note: I really just don’t want to go on about the whole video without you not seeing the WHOLE video, so I will put a link right here for it: CLICK HERE.

The song has a really soft melody, which makes total sense if you put in with the video and really compliments K.Will’s voice, who is like on of the masters of ballads. It is very soft, yet definitely very emotional. There is something about his voice, which makes us feel kind of sad. You know? The song really sounds sweet, but like your typical love song, describing the girl, but if you put that the music video, you will understand the full story of the video. “After spending a long day finding this place. I feel like I am lost” and “I pretend to be crazy and hold onto you but my body won’t listen to me” are just some of the lyrics in the song which is packed full of emotion. I will definitely recommend this song, if you like love songs and ballads.

The music video! Boy, was I fooled. You were too, weren’t you? Well, if you do not understand the music video, there is something wrong with you, just I will explain it anyway. Well, there is a guy who, I think lives with a couple. The girl was picks on this guy and makes him angry, where the boyfriend would come along and play along with the girl. Anyway, the guy feels uncomfortable, when he sees the couple kiss and stuff, because it would be an awkward thing. I find it very awkward to sit next to my friend and his girlfriend kissing. Anyway, the boyfriend proposes to the girl, they get married. The guy is jealous, and does not wish to be apart of the ceremony, but gets dragged in anyway. Later it is shown, that the guy is crying while driving his car.

What surprised me, was the ending. In the end, a picture of the three are taken out. He rips the picture into three parts and discards the girl from the picture, putting him and the boyfriend together. A gay couple. I was totally deceived that the guy was jealous of the boyfriend. South Korea is really gonna ban this and use some excuse: promoting homosexuality.   Really, I was quite surprised, first time witnessing this in a music video. Yes, you too!

WILL UPDATE WHEN A LIVE PERFORMANCE COMES OUT!

WILL UPDATE WHEN I FINALLY FINISH THE REVIEW!

7 thoughts on “Please Don’t… – K.Will

  1. ahh what I don’t understand though is that he’s crying in the car and the girl is in it with him at first, and then right at the end it’s actually the guy who he is in the car with? Does anyone know what’s up with that?

    Like

  2. Hi I have studied this MV a lot due to my interests in the subject and Korea.

    (Synopsis) In Guk and Jae-Hyun were gay lovers in the MV. Why. Read the lyrics and then look at the MV again.

    (Most scenes) are In Guk driving from Wedding remembering. Dasom was never in the car! She is representing the Korean pressure & emotions of society towards marriage that’s creating the split.)

    (Lyrics.) We sit next to each other in the car but there is no music. I always held your left hand.

    ANSWER: Last time in car their situation has changed = No music playing. Jae Hyun’s hand was always held. (Only place gays can express their love ‘Holding Hands’ in public without being abused.) Dasom vision in Car/Apartment represents intrusion into those personal spaces)
    (Lyrics.) But now you are bitting at your nails. I know what you’re going to say. Please don’t say it.

    ANSWER: Jae-Hyun bitting = Korean family tradition/pressured/expectation to marry. But In Guk is pleading with Jae Hyun Please don’t do it. This is a common situation Korean Gays face.
    (Lyrics.) I want to delay just one minute/one second, but this empty road keeps rushing me.

    ANSWER: In Guk knows that he cannot stop the Korean peer pressures that will wedge them apart.
    (Lyrics.) I arrive at you house that’s so familiar, but the tears start to fall.

    ANSWER: they were lovers but now heartbreak.
    (Lyrics.) After spending a long day trying to find this place. But now I feel lost. ANSWER: In Guk & Jae Hyun found love but it is being wedged apart by Korean Family tradition/expectation to marry.
    (Lyrics.) It’s not even raining today. But you fade away behind the car window. ANSWER: their split is not from In Guk and Jae-Hyun arguing but due to Korean peer expectation to marry.
    (Lyrics.) Letting you go away. It’s not that easy. You turn around and walk away. ANSWER: In Guk is the one stepping aside without arguing, Jae Hyun is walking away from the love. A doomed love/Forbidden Love in Korea.
    (Lyrics.)Tears eventually drop and I need to wipe them away now.

    ANSWER: In Guk is heartbroken and Jae Hyun knows because they were lovers.
    (Lyrics.) I don’t know whether to use the Handkerchief you gave me or throw it away.

    ANSWER: Jae- Hyun gave him the Handkerchief. Handkerchief = Jae Hyun knows the pain that’s being caused. Memento!
    (Lyrics.)Why am i shivering? ANSWER: In Guk is deep in love but helpless to the social demands.
    (Lyrics.) Though I try to stop you from leaving. I’m standing here paralysed. ANSWER: Korean Forbidden love is forcing In Guk to stand aside. In Guk can’t go against that tradition. Jae Hyun must have participated in the gay love.
    (Lyrics.) Want to keep dreaming in your scent left in the car. And I don’t want to wake up from the dream.

    ANSWER: the words Dream = Gay romance. Scent = Jae Hyun’s Love.
    (Lyrics.) On top of the empty seat you left only your cold scent remains.

    ANSWER: Its Jae-Hyun not Dason that he feels/reaches for in the car. Scent left in car is referring to Jae Hyun’s lover of In Guk.
    (Lyrics.) I will hold onto the remaining scent. So come back to where you belong. ANSWER: Jae-Hyun is gay. As In Guk tears the picture he is saying that he will wait for him to come back where he belongs. Belong = Gay lovers.
    (Last scene) shot shows Jae Hyun in car with his arm stretched over to In Guk’s hand. They still loved.

    Key clues in MV that show their love.
    The stealth gaze they give each other at the Wedding as they slink past each other.
    The look and gestures Jae-Hyun gives In Guk before and after he pulls him for the photo.
    Jae Hyun looks down at his hand hold Dasom’s but his look is empty!
    The steely gaze that Jae-Hyun and then Guk look into each other’s eyes just prior to the photo being taken. Guk senses that Jae-Hyun still loves him.
    In Guk rubs Jae Hyun face on the picture not Dasom’s.
    Last scene shot shows Jae Hyun in car with his arm stretched over to In Guk.

    Like

Leave a Reply

