Break Down – Super Junior M

Super Junior M made their long awaited comeback since who knows with Break Down. Different from their previous songs, Break Down is a song that shows, to me, more of their dance skills rather than vocal skills.

This song is quite addictive to listen to. It is not a typical SM song. It has this really addictive techno beat and to me, there seem to be a lot of thought put into the song. I enjoy listening to this song, but I am disappointed, as it does not contain the vocal talent which Kyuhyun and Ryeowook I am used to listening to. I am used those high and long notes towards the end of the song, just this song is lacking it. But hey, I guess it would not fit the club feel of the song. The other members sound pretty good, however, I don’t know if the autotune or background vocals are overpowering, but I can only hear Henry, Kyuhyun, Ryeowook & Sungmin’s voice. I cannot here the other members at all or differentiate their voices. I absolutely love the bridge of the song, which is my highlight of the song.

Ah, the music video. Another set, however this one seemed like there is a lot of thought and money put into it. I am not sure about the camera work though. It seems like when the camera films the solo shots of the singers, they seem to be standing in front of a blue or green screen, and the editing there went really bad. However, that part where they had all the members dancing in that really dark room seems to be a cross-over from Beast’s Shock and EXO’s What is Love?. But beside that, I am usually impressed by Super Junior’s dance skill. However this song lacks it. I don’t know whether there were a lot of solo shots or something, but I am not impressed by this dance. Despite it being a really good upbeat song, the dance moves are quite slow. But hey, they made the dance extra slow when it came to the slow parts of the song.

8/10. Pretty good for a SM song this time around.

Leave a Reply

