Why Goodbye – The BOSS

Source: http://i0.wp.com/24-7kpop.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/Screen-shot-2013-11-28-at-11.01.58-PM.png?resize=770%2C472

The BOSS recently returned to Korea with a new song. It has been a long while since the band had a comeback in Korea. I never heard of the band so I had to dig something up on the band to talk about. For those, like me, who have no clue who these guys are, let me give you a run down. This bands promotes much more in Japan than in Korea. They came from the the company, Open Entertainment, but soon left after it caused trouble. The band this year signed a contract and returned to Korea after a two year hiatus. Their debut song was “Admiring Boy”, and because of this song, they were quite popular as a rookie group. They are also referred to as DGNA.

This song is amazing. I recently sat down and watched their debut song, and wow, what a change. This song has this seriousness feel to it that makes it so eye catching. The song is not overly epic, but focuses on the vocals and had this acoustic and orchestral feel to it. Basically, it does not contain that much electro and modern beat. I don’t know if this would be an insult, but the song can be described as “simple”. There is nothing complicated in this song or hard to get into. It is really addictive. I don’t think the chorus is the best part of the song, but I really like the guys vocals. I think the English lines in the song like: “Why Goodbye”, “Don’t Break My Heart” have this really addictive feel to it, which makes me go back to the song more and more. The song talks about how a guy does not want to let his girl go, despite she wanting to leave him. It has really beautiful lyrics.

The music video is really a big standout. Like the song, the music video is quite simple. Black and white filter and then there no weird and awkward sets or huge neon signs and plasma tvs. Instead, there is only a white backdrop. Still pretty cool. I think the reason why I like this video, because the video puts emphasis on most of the English words in the song. By putting emphasis, I actually mean by displaying the word in the video for us to see, in a really cool font. The only complaint I have, are the block lines. They focus the music video for most of the time, but for a some amount of time, they become a distraction for me. Like it is covering a section of the screen that I want to see. But despite that, it is a really cool music video.

The dance is pretty cool. It is very different to the music video and song. While they are simple and smooth, the dance is rather jagged and sharp. I like it.

9/10. Why should I dislike such a cool band? They are now on my radar, hopefully, next time they come back won’t been 2 years down the track!

Leave a Reply

