Call Me Baby – EXO

Who has been waiting for this review? I know, I am very delayed, but I am finally putting out a review for this song. EXO is finally back with a new song after what seems to be a shocking year for the group. 12 members become 10 members after the shocking “departures” of Kris and Luhan (with rumours of more – hopefully this is not the case). I put departure in quotation marks mainly because from what I understand, their contracts have yet to be ripped up meaning they are still under SM Entertainment and a part of EXO. From what I understand (again), their contracts are still valid up until the day both sides reach an agreement of contract cancellation or the courts decide for the parties. This is quite sad news, but it seems like EXO is going strong. Fans still support them in both Korea and China, with their latest song a huge success pretty much.

And from hence forth, I think I am going to have 58934689034 fangirls stalking me for what I am about to say. Don’t take this the wrong way, because this is a pretty good song. But, I personally thought the song was quite a mess. This song is pretty good (better than Overdose) but it really isn’t up to par with the likes of Growl. After listening to the song so many times already, “Call Me Baby” is probably the most annoying thing that I have ever heard. Some songs do need the repetitiveness, but in this song, it clashes with the rest. I personally don’t like songs where singers sing on top of each other, but with different lyrics (minus a few exceptions). This just sounded so messy. The chorus was being delivered with a rapper rapping a small part and on top of that, the next vocalist is brought in.  It just confuses me and it is not neat. But on the other hand, I liked the song. The part where Chen and D.O harmonize during the bridge was pretty good. The rapping was good (but the mismatch between the voices at the start of the rap has to go). It is a nice song overall, fits in well with EXO’s style.

Okay SM. There is no need for another one shot video for EXO. It is so boring to watch. But many of their fans are probably like “this is a one shot video”. Thank you for telling me something obvious. The music video was shot to mimic the “one shot concept” and I don’t think this song or concept needs that. I don’t think they need excessive amount of videos mimicking something that they already done. It kind of looks like the company (well director and porducer in this case) is lost when it comes their music videos. Actually, SM has always been lost. They never got out of the box until recently. Another complaint. Their hair. So ugly. My hairstyle at the moment is pretty bad. Kai’s and Chen’s permed middle part really needs to go back to the bin. This isn’t the 90s we are looking at. I thought their clothing were bad in Overdose, but their hair here takes it to a whole new level. Actually, I want to know what Kai is wearing half the time. He really looks “untrendy” in this video. As for that black and white filter, what was going on?

Their dance, I can say, is much better than their music video. Though there is a lot more patting on the back and shoulders, I think this dance was really cool. Their solo parts at the beginning where pretty solid. In fact, I have not seen some members attempt dance moves like that in their previous releases ever. Don’t know what that means though.

I know, I don’t like taking stabs at artists. Especially artists  such as EXO, I always become uneasy with putting out their reviews. They haven’t had the “perfect” song that incorporates a dance, but they still put out good songs. But these are just my opinions on the song, music video and dance. 7/10

 

4 thoughts on “Call Me Baby – EXO

Leave a Reply

