Queen – Miryo (Brown Eyed Girls) ft. Gain (Brown Eyed Girls)

It has been a long time coming but finally something has emerged about Brown Eyed Girls. While this is not a full comeback from the band, one member is pretty good, considering the lack of activities from the band. So when I heard Miryo was making her comeback, I was extremely happy. Yes I know, Gain did make a comeback, but compared to the other members, she is promoted a lot more than her other band members. Brown Eyed Girls also shot down disbandment rumours, by saying that they are currently working on an album and it should be released sometime in the near future. I hope they don’t disband and if it happens that this album may be their last, I don’t mind. Just give me the album. How selfish of me really. But considering their age, it is amazing at where they are today.

So Miryo made her comeback. And the rapper is known for her bad ass style and hardcore rapping skills. And that is what every expected. However, I have to agree with most people. This song is quite underwhelming. I don’t think it is bad, it just does not conform to our expectations of the rapper. That is quite disappointing. But nonetheless, I don’t hate the song. I thought it was quite good and continue to think that it is Miryo putting out a new style. If you consider it, if an artist writes their song and produces it, only to have their loyal fans express their disappointment continuously, it would be hard on the artist. Learn to appreciate the song. For the song, I thought it was classy in its own standard. The song stilled managed to flow pretty well. It was not a badly written song or was not an earsore. Is it a song I would listen on repeat? No, not really. Gain’s feature in the song is pretty nice. There is this thing where the vocals of Brown Eyed Girls blend very well together. There is still that hip hop sound to the song, just it is very tamed and low key. It is a great song to listen to, but yeah, did not really wow anyone.

As for the music video, I am sure a little more budgeting would have made this video into something that makes us go wow. Yeah, rumours have it that Nega Network (which houses Brown Eyed Girls) have been having financial issues. Anyway, the music video was very boring. There wasn’t anything to interest me. Close up shots of the rapper and then dark silhouettes. The use of the Queen cards were pretty smart. I am at awe of her figure as well. She looked very hot in this video and her clothes just made it so much better (much of a pervert???). The music video did fit the style of the song pretty well as well. Gain did not feature in the video, which was another disappointment for this comeback. Yeah.

Now, they say Miryo has a few songs lined up and will be releasing more towards the end of the year. That is what I read online. 2 songs ain’t going to quench my thirst. Hahaha… Or even better, get the whole band to make a comeback. Nice song, though underwhelming. 5/10

Leave a Reply

