Overcome – NU’EST

NU’EST has finally returned after a year with their newest mini album, Q is. Last year they did release I’m Bad, but no live promotions were held for the release. It also did not feature Baekho due to health reasons. So, we technically last saw them on stage in 2014 with Good Bye Bye.  But now they are back with Overcome as their newest title track.

This is a unique track which I think is pretty good. It starts off slow and within 5 seconds of listening to the song, it just picks up and turns into a dubstep filled song. That is what I think gives the song a really nice and unique feel to it. Not that I am complaining, because I feel like I have been deprived of the style of music for some time. I actually like how the start gave off that mysterious feel. The chorus probably was the best part of the song for me. The vocals were superb and stable. The rap was a little disappointing. Not exactly feeling the background vocals for the rap. It just adds a fake layer to the song, and ruins it for me. But still, it is not terrible. I think the song is pretty good (dammit, just said the same thing at the start again).

The music video is pretty confusing. It seems like they are in some kind of mystical land or some place that could be considered as the ideal fantasy place. But it kind of odd, how one moment they are in the snow, the next they are inside a castle, wearing normal looking clothes. I guess the girl goes missing in the end, and the guys all set out into the snow to look for her, while some hang back at the, what is now, an abandoned castle.  Yeah, as you can see, I don’t really have it yet. I have to say the sets look cool. Just where can I address Ren’s hair. Not that I have anything against the long hair men in the world, it is just, this particular hairstyle really does not suit him. When I first watched the video, I thought I missed the news where a female member joined NU’EST. Then I realize, I could not find Ren anywhere and connected the dots from there. Can’t he, for once, have short hair for a comeback?

The dance is pretty cool itself. While there was not much to be excited for, the dance that came with the song had pretty good formations and transitions. None of the moves were impressive, but I guess I was impressed by the formations and transitions between each member and such.

Overall, fans seem to miss the guys a lot, and I guess what the guys came out with lived to my and (from what I can read off YouTube) the fans expectations. 7/10

2 thoughts on “Overcome – NU’EST

Leave a Reply

