Mo Mo Mo – Cosmic Girls

Cosmic Girls are the newest girl group on the block. They officially debuted in February with their first mini album For this mini album, they have two title tracks: Mo Mo Mo and Catch Me. If I have time, I will review Catch Me. This was meant to be a Double Review, but (at the time I am writing this) the video was yet to be released and the group has been predominately promoting Mo Mo Mo. They are signed under Starship Entertainment and Yuehua Entertainment, hence consisting members of both Chinese and South Korean roots. The group is made up of 12 members: SeolA, Xuanyi, Bona, Exy, Soobin, Luda, Dawom, Eunseo, Cheng Xiao, Meiqi, Yeoreum and Dayoung. They are also known as Wu Ju Su Nyeo (WSJN).

This song shows the cutesy side of the girls, while Catch Me shows a more edgier side of the girls. It is a bright song, but honestly, I don’t think it is a good song to debut with. Yeah, it is somewhat catchy, but I am really disappointed with the outcome of the song. Their vocals are mediocre, and there really isn’t anything that sets this girl group (musically) apart from many girl groups. I think a more crude way of saying it is “I feel like the song is dead”. Once again, it is like another of those “black and white” songs or another monotone song. The rapping was okay, but not that great. It failed to change the song up and make it different. The instrumental itself isn’t that great as well. Very bland and un-colourful.

The music video wasn’t that great as well. Greatly disappointed with the outcome. That warm colour going for is very boring and failed to bring a bright feel with the video. That warm cream colour of the room that they were dancing in seemed to remind me of April’s Dream Candy. I have to be honest though, the amount of girls in the video does not seem to reflect the amount of girls that the group has. There was obviously 20 girls or more in the video, not 12. The only part of the video that I really liked is the introduction. But even the cream colour ruined my fancy for it. But the short instrumental at start seemed amazing and suited the girls more than the rest of the video. Maybe I like their edgier concept like in Catch Me. Who knows. The video doesn’t give much more for me to discuss about. It isn’t memorable and not really inviting for me to rewatch the video.

The dancing isn’t that memorable. There really is not a single thing I remember from their performances. It is as if I never saw them dance (but don’t worry, I have). Saying that, I am still amazed at how the girls positioned themselves in their formations and amazed at how they moved into their positions. With a lot of people, it is obviously much harder, but these girls do it without thinking (and it is somewhat scary, like how possibly they will ease into your life).

Overall, not the debut that I was expecting. Did not think I would that disappointed in the song, video and dance. But hopefully, they will be back with a better concept/ comeback package. 2/10

 

2 thoughts on “Mo Mo Mo – Cosmic Girls

Leave a Reply

