Attention – UP10TION

UP10TION has finally returned. And this is my first time reviewing them. Wasn’t drawn to their debut song, however, their comebacks are really good and they get better every single time. For those who don’t know, UP10TION is a 10 member boy group who are under TOP Media, which houses Teen Top and 100%. They made their debut last year with So Dangerous and returned in November with Catch Me. The group consists of Jinhoo, Kuhn, Kogyeol, Wei, Bitto, Wooshin, Sunyoul, Gyujin, Hwanhee, Xiao. And yes, a review for this group is way long overdue.

The song is pretty good. Yeah, it is a bit boring, but what was released ended up sounding really good to me. It has this retro vibe that reminds me of some other Korean bands (not naming any, though), but it is quite upbeat. The song starts off soft, but as the song continues, it builds up (kind of). The song does have that monotone sound to it as well. Imagine a straight line. The song just travels along that straight line and there anything to make it deviate and make it sound interesting or better. Their vocals are okay, not amazing. The raps are pretty good as well, probably my most favourite part of the song. This song just doesn’t suit their group as a whole. Sure some members do stand out, but I feel like the majority of the band is holding back when they sing/perform the song. While I didn’t like their debut song, I could tell it was powerful and strong. This, to me, is the complete opposite and borderlines the aegyo side of boy groups.

The music video does have my “attention”, but I don’t think what I am going to say will be complimenting the band at all. I would like this video to be split into two. To me, there are two concepts. Cutesy boys who are happy to see their boyfriend and when they are dancing. Both look like polar opposites and belong to two different videos. One part I see really cool looking dudes who are dancing really well, and then the next second I see someone smiling way too cute and showing aegyo. Their acting is super bad and I think I would know some people who would disagree with me and say they are cute. I do much prefer the dancing scenes only in the video. If they cut out that colour stuff and kept the dance scenes in there, I would have paid a lot more attention to the video and gave compliments rather than my disappointment (such as above). It suits the song more and their image.

Dance is really good. They have always stood out for me in terms of dancing.  Everything in their dance is razor sharp, but also very fluidly. Nothing looks out of place and each movement flows from one to another. Their leg kicks over the members head is really good. I do have to mention this, but some of the members have this awkward facial expression on the stage and that does distract me sometimes, wondering why?

Overall, I think the comeback is great. They definitely get better with every release and I do look forward to what they will be doing next. 7/10

I do apologise for last night release. Last night’s review was meant to be released yesterday and that is what I tried to do. However, as I was writing it up near midnight, I think WordPress miscalculated the time and released on today’s date instead. I ended up check my setting today and found out I set the wrong time zone. I was still in daylight savings mode. Hahaha… Just pretend I released the review on Saturday AEST and this one is the review I released today (Sunday). I’ve fixed it, so I should release all reviews at the right time. WordPress will just record this 2 reviews  being released today. That is all. Thank’s for reading.

2 thoughts on “Attention – UP10TION

Leave a Reply

