[Double Review] Butterfly + Ribbon – Beast

Beast has returned to the stage. This comeback marks the first time the boys have returned since Hyunseung withdrew from the group back in April this year.

Let’s start off with the pre-release, Butterfly. This ballad song is great. Their vocals are quite nice. Since Hyunseung departed, you can definitely tell that the group needed to step up to fill in the empty spot and this song is an excellent example of that. Even Junhyung, who predominate raps in Beast’s songs, have stepped up and opened the song really well. The rest of the group sings really well, as well. The chorus is quite addictive as well and I find it a great song to sway along to. To me, it sounds like a flawless song and I really do enjoy listening to it.

Ribbon is another great song to add to the list. The song sounds like version 2.0 of 12:30. I can’t say this is a ballad, but I see where everyone is coming from. I really enjoyed the violins in the instrumental. It was well emphasised and it drew my attention right away. It does have a few issues in my book, though. The first would have to be the vocals vs. instrumental balance. I found the instrumental was very overpowering at times and I couldn’t hear the vocal work of the members as well. The “Tie up a ribbon” sounds really awkward and it took me a while to actually understand that is what was being sung. I actually thought they were saying something in South Korean. Those high notes at the end were pretty cool. Overall, both songs are pretty good.

The music video for Butterfly is really beautiful . Though, I do think the addition of the props are a little weird (who really enjoys a couch in the open field?), the overall setting is really nice. The camera captures a really nice shot of both nature and the guys. Though, there really is not much else to talk about the Butterfly video, it fits in well with the sound and the overall expected “gracefulness” when we hear the title of the song. Ribbon is a much darker video. The darker atmosphere matched the sombered feel of the song, but the video does remind me (quite strongly) of 12:30 as well. I don’t know what is going on the video But it seems the guys each had good memories about the surroundings they are in (for example the teddy bear in the locker). However they are bounded to these surroundings (by ribbons) and are reminded constantly by the heartbreak (Kikwang’s expressions when he sees both the teddy bear and the extending hand). They try to break away, some successful and some I guess were not. And once again, those awkward props are placed in the weirdest environments. Who honestly puts a photo booth on a skyscraper’s roof top and helipad?

Glad Butterfly doesn’t have a dance. I think Ribbon’s dance is quite nice. Them hip movements, though. Hahaha… Something needs to be done with their pants though. Way too baggy around the ankles. The dance does remind me a lot of 12:30. I did like 12:30’s dance, so I don’t know if it is a bad or good thing that it reminds me of 12:30.

Just a closing statement – Both were awesome, but I am a little troubled about how simlar Ribbon was with 12:30, espeically now how I have finished writing this review and I have mentioned it so many times.

Butterfly – 9.5/10

Ribbon – 8.5/10

4 thoughts on “[Double Review] Butterfly + Ribbon – Beast

Leave a Reply

