[Review] Skydive – B.A.P

B.A.P has finally made their return with their second album to date, Noir. They came back this year with Feel So Good and That’s My Jam. Unfortunately, Bang Yong Guk, the leader of B.A.P was unable to participate in the promotions for Skydive due to health concerns. You could feel that his presence was missing during the comeback stages and I hope  that Yong Guk will get better soon to return to the stage.

Skydive is a very powerful song. There is no doubt about it. It’s instrumental is quite fierce and aggressive, especially during the chorus, when the song reaches its peaks.  I also quite like it, but I am a little disappointed at times. Let’s start off with what I like about the song. The line distribution is quite equal this time around. Daehyun, who usually gets the majority of the lines in B.A.P songs, has fewer lines than Youngjae. This is definitely a great opportunity for Youngjae to use his vocals, which he did pretty well. Jongup and Himchan also saw an increase in the amount of lines that they usually get.  The vocals are also quite amazing as well, fitting the fierceness of the song. Jongup, once again, shows a great improvement in vocals. His raspy and hoarse vocals were just one of the highlights of the song. The instrumental is really cool as well. A bit of rock, EDM and hip-hop can be heard in the instrumental. I also liked the small dance break instrumental at the bridge. Let’s move onto things that I felt was disappointing. The rapping sounds tame for me. It felt underwhelming. Also, the ending of the song sounds a little too messy for my liking. Listening to the song off the album, that isn’t the case, but every time I watch a live performance, it feels like everyone, at the end, is clashing together and that doesn’t sound good. Maybe they aren’t hitting the right notes, but it is something that stands out to me.

Another mini movie in the music videos. So many these days, I spend a lot of my time trying to decipher the story nowadays. Anyway, the cinematography  in this video is top-notch. The acting was a little awkward at times, but it wasn’t bad that is ruined the video. Let’s move onto the plot line. Hahaha.. The plot line is far too long to write here, so you can click the link at the end of the paragraph to access my interpretation or shocking retell of the video. This gives you guys a chance to watch the video and see for yourself. Of course, there are spoilers, so be sure to watch the video first. It is an excellent storyline. The entire video is awesome. The movement between the plot line and close up shots of the guys dancing and singing wasn’t that distracting and I thought they added more depth. Usually, I don’t enjoy them, but this time around, it kind of heightened the suspense for me. I do have one thing that would have improved the plot of the story into a stronger story, and you can see that at the end of the synopsis/interpretation, by clicking below.

To read about the plotline and some pointers that I point out regarding the video, CLICK HERE!!!

The dance is very strong and fits the song perfectly. I am a little confused about the start, which Himchan is furiously looking into the camera. But besides that, I think everything looked cool. From the chorus to Jongup’s solo dance break, this is a performance that everyone should see.

Rating – 9/10

Leave a Reply

