[Review] Gorilla – Pentagon

[This review was written and scheduled a few months back in preparation for my absence in December. The standard posts for the end of the year (comebacks I have missed in November & December, the end of year charts + KPOPreviewed awards will be written and posted after my return. No weekly charts will be uploaded for the last week of November and all of December.]

Pentagon is a 10 member boy group who debuted back in October with the track Gorilla. The group is currently under Cube Entertainment. The members were chosen via the show Pentagon Maker. All of the members selected on the program and a few eliminated contestants went on to form Pentagon. In the end, the group comprises of Jinho, Hui, Hongseok, E’Dawn, Shinwon, Yeo One, Yan An, Yuto, Kino & Wooseok.  Jinho was originally a part of SM The Ballad and Hongseok participated in the survival program for iKON (but was eliminated).

Can’t say I like the song, but I don’t hate it. It is a song that I am on the fence about. Considering just the title, it makes me laugh. It is a title that is very out there and doesn’t allude to your typical track. It kind acted as the deal breaker for me. The song (removed from the title in my head) actually sounds pretty good. They have a solid beat that formed the basis of their song. And the song progressed quite smoothly. I would have enjoyed the song a little more if the chanting “Gorilla Gorilla” was completely omitted. (Once again, I just can’t take the title properly). Not many Gorilla references in the lyrics, but some of the lines were questionable: “Everyone wants to pick you like a strawberry“. Hmmm.. But besides, I liked the instrumental. It has a nice pop/hip-hop vibe and I mentioned the cool beat before. Their vocals and rapping was pretty good.

As a concept, Gorilla sounds pretty ordinary. This is KPOP we are talking about. A genre where the concepts that artists go for when it comes to videos and performances aren’t that ‘normal’ in Western culture. While some people seem to be able to piece out a story with the various different scenes, to me, it just seems like a bunch of shots made to string together. They look like they have no relevance and don’t flow from each other. Some relevance to gorillas. while some relevance was directed to the group’s name, Pentagon. The group choreography was well shot but not that focused. I assume to match the craziness of the dance and the music, those shots were out of focus and shaky. Overall thoughts on the video: it is a mess. That or I am really confused.

However, the choreography for this debut is smashing. From what I can see, the group has a lot of potential in this department. The dance at the chorus has to be one of the few dances of the year. It matches the Gorilla concept pretty well and the song. Looks funny but after a while you overlook it and see a great dance.

Rating – 5.5/10

 

Leave a Reply

