[Review] Rainy Days – Topp Dogg

[This review was written and scheduled a few months back in preparation for my absence in December. The standard posts for the end of the year (comebacks I have missed in November & December, the end of year charts + KPOPreviewed awards) will be written and posted after my return. No weekly charts will be uploaded for the last week of November and all of December.]

It has been a while since Topp Dogg has returned to the stage. This is also the first time I am reviewing Topp Dogg, as time constraints in the past have prevented me from doing so. So who is Topp Dogg, you may ask? Topp Dogg is currently a 9 member boy group under Hunus Entertainment. The current lineup includes P-Goon, Hojoon, Sangdo, Nakta, Hansol, B-Joo, Zero, A-Tom and Yano. They originally were a 13 member boy group, who debuted under Stardom Entertainment back in 2013.

I have not been a fan of their releases thus far, but I am going to let you know. This song is different. Their past releases have been heavily mixed with hip hop influences. This one is more RnB with a hint of hip hop present.  It almost sounds like something that Block B would release and reminded me of Block B’s Toy (which I totally loved). It definietly reminds me of rain days and it sounds amazing. I think the vocals and rapping are nice. However, I am not into the rapping that repeated what was sung (such as during the chorus). It kind of distracted me from the overall sound of the song and on top of that sounded a little forced. The song also ended adruptly. Not as adruptly as Astro’s latest song as you could tell the song was drawing to a close. The song should have eased off at the end like zoning out on the sound of rain on a Rainy Day.

It only makes senses for the video to be shot on a Rainy Day, which they did here. But beside there isn’t anything else to comment on in the video. There were some close-up shots, but majority were choreography scenes or shots of them singing. Though, the video matches the sound of the song quite nicely.

The dance looked pretty good. It, too, matched the sound of the song quite nicely. Not too intense but not too simple that it looks cheesy. I don’t have much else to say, but it is a performance that I reccomend you watch.

Rating – 8/10

Leave a Reply

