[Review] JJan! Koong! Kwang! – Momoland

[This review was written and scheduled a few months back in preparation for my absence in December. For any reviews for end of November and December comebacks, they will be posted next year. This also includes any end of year related posts.]

Okay, so I have done a lot of reviews for boy groups lately. So why don’t I do some for girl groups? There are quite a few girl groups that made their debut towards the end of the year, so I have chosen to do Momoland. Momoland is a 7 member girl group who are currently under Duble Sidekick Company. The lineup includes Nancy, Hyebin, Nayoon, Ahin,  Yeonwoo, Jane and JooE.

This is such a cute song. Yeah, I know that this is a song that falls under the cutesy concept. But I tend to watch a lot of cutesy song with a straight face. But this one has me singing along. It is really catchy and addictive. Vocally, they may not be standing out. But I love the way the song was composed or produced. The ‘Jjan’ that starts off each chorus is like a mini explosion that occurs, which gets you into the mood. The rest of the chorus is pretty neat. The saxophone bridge and that chanting segment sounded amazing. Not a major fan of the start. The “Do you like it Momoland?” sounds awkward. The instrumental at the start sounds pretty slow as well, but the song starts to pick up at the chorus, which does save the song, in my opinion.

Unlike the song, the music video isn’t that  cute. The video reminds me of Laboum’s videos in the past. Not that I am saying Momoland copied Laboum. It just felt similar. I also don’t really understand what is happening in the few scenes where they are like sitting amongst trees and sleeping. I don’t have much else to say about the video. It works well with the song, but it doesn’t look cute like how the song sounds.

I am torn about the dance. Some parts looked cute and felt just right for the song. Other parts looked awkward and exaggerated a little too much. I really like the dance at the bridge and the chorus.

Rating – 7/10

Leave a Reply

