[Album Review] Palette (4th Full Album) – IU

I said a few days ago that I would write an album review for IU’s latest album, Palette. And everything went perfectly okay until Ending Scene was released with a music video on Monday. Which reminded me that we also got a teaser for Jam Jam, which probably means there is a music video of Jam Jam as well. So the issue is now, when shall I do Jam Jam‘s review? Ultimately, I have decided to not do another full review for Jam Jam and will only do the song review part here as part of the album review. Let’s get this show on the road!

Palette Album Cover

1..Now (이 지금)  – The instrumental consist of classical instrumental which makes you remember the music of the past. It is a very bright song overall, with a cuteness element mixed into it somewhere. However, her voice does bring some elegance to the song, with its mature tone. It is instantly a song that makes me smile and I like it a lot. (9/10)

2. Palette (팔레트) ft. G-Dragon (Title Track)Click here to read the full review for Palette (9.5/10)

3. Ending Scene (이런 엔딩)Click here to read the full review for Ending Scene (9.5/10)

4. Can’t Love You Anymore (사랑이 잘) ft. Oh Hyuk (Pre-release Track) – Though it was a pre-release, I actually never got around to reviewing it because there was no accompanying music video. But it is another track off her album that sounds amazing. There is a nice jazzy sound to it and right off the bat, I wouldn’t mind listening to this song in a cafe somewhere, with it playing softly. Oh Hyuk’s vocals fit very well into the song and it goes nicely with IU’s breathy vocals. Put the two together and you have another spectacular collaboration off this album (9/10)

5. Jam Jam (잼잼) – Her breathy vocals come into the play once again in Jam Jam. The song has a more upbeat instrumental which had disco vibes, which I liked quite a bit. I love the way she whispers for the pre-chorus and that launches into such a catchy chorus. I really want to see a live performance for this song because while it does have a distinct uniqueness, there is a Kylie Minogue feel coming from certain parts in the song. An artist that I grew up with because Kylie was constantly on TV when I was younger.(10/10) 

6. Black Out – This is going down as a personal favourite. There is something about this song that makes it so good. I am not sure if it is her vocals in the song. She is half singing and half talking for the most part. However, especially during the chorus, she lets her vocals out and they do all the modelling in this song. The instrumental is quite nice. Nothing too overpowering, almost relaxing. (10/10)

7. Machimpyo (마침표) – Another ballad joins the mix. This one sounds like something off the soundtrack of a popular movie that made everyone cry. It sounds like the background song for remembering someone you were extremely fond of. Her vocals were softer here, but the emotions were still strong. (10/10)

8. Through The Night (밤편지) (Pre-release Track)Click here to read the full review for Through The Night (10/10)

9. And So Love Is (그렇게 사랑은) – Boy, this song sounds sad. But it stills my breath away. The instrumental comprises of only guitar. With her emotional vocals in this song, the two elements leave a haunting sound. Even in the brief moments of silence, you can hear her voice echoing (probably was filled in my own mind) but it leaves a big impression on me. And it also proves her capabilities to anyone who still questions her in any way. (10/10)

10. Dear Name (이름에게) – The final song on the album is also another ballad. This one reminds me of Machimpyo (above) because it too sounded like it came off the soundtrack of a popular movie that made everyone cry. The orchestral feel in the song makes it sound so much more amazing. If it means anything, it is another song that gets me swaying along. And it took my breath away. (10/10)

Image result for Palette IU teaser image
Palette Teaser Image (Source: ALLKPOP)

Overall Album Rating – 9.5/10

recommended red round grunge vintage ribbon stamp

One thought on “[Album Review] Palette (4th Full Album) – IU

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s