[Review] I Smile – DAY6

It’s that time of the month where we reach the 6th of each month and DAY6 makes their monthly return with a brand new song. But what makes their June release even more special is that their June release is actually their first album! Their main title track is I Smile, but it features all the songs that they have released on a monthly basis since the start of the year including I Wait, You Were Beautiful, How Can I Say, I’m Serious & Dance Dance. I also smell an album review coming your way.

I Smile returns to the emotional side of music which the guys have previously released, before dropping Summer suited tracks. The first thing I noticed while listening to the song for the first time was the buildup, which was beautiful. DAY6 songs are great for rocking out to and this is not an exception. It might not be as intense as their other tracks, but this one hits the mark when it comes to that emotional side. Their best yet, actually. Their vocals are amazing, as usual. But what makes this track even better the instrumental break which they have during the bridge (?). That gave the song the right level of intensity it needed. It also changed the song up a tiny bit by introducing synths. Overall, DAY6 has continuously pushed out great songs each month and this month is not an exception.

Complimenting the emotional side of the song, the music video did a wonderful job of captivating those feelings. Each member did a pretty good job at staring into the camera with a lot of emotion. Essentially, one of the guys sees his former lover at a bar where he is performing with another person. The lyrics show how they continue to smile for her, despite being heartbroken. And the videos ties in nicely with the lyrics. The cinematography was pretty good and the solo shots of the members looked amazing. The first few seconds of silence of the music video was oddly painful for me. I don’t know why. I don’t know if it was their intention, but I thought some of the backdrops during the instrumental break were similar to the ones used in previous music videos. They looked oddly familiar and very cool, nonetheless. And finally, the lead actress in the video was very pretty. I honestly could not stop staring at her.

Song – 9/10
Music Video – 9/10
Overall Rating – 9/10

One thought on “[Review] I Smile – DAY6

Leave a Reply

