[Album Review] Happy Moment (1st Full Album) – WJSN (Cosmic Girls)

WJSN (or Cosmic Girls) are back with their brand new album. It also happens to be their first full-length album, which was released a little over a year after their debut. The girls have drawn my attention with their title tracks Secret and I Wish. From what I have written for this album review, I feel like the album is a step in the right direction for the girls.

 

Image result for WJSN Happy Moment
Happy Moment Album Cover

 

1..Happy (Title Track)Click here to read the full review for the title track, Happy. (7.5/10)

2. Miracle (기적 같은 아이) – I think most people agree that Miracle is a more suitable title track for this album. It was similar enough to follow the standards that Secret and I Wish had set. But at the same time, they managed to turn the song into a much brighter and light sound, which made it a refreshing song to listen to. Exy’s rap here is totally more badass and suitable for her voice. I did really like this track and thought it was really great amazing as well. (9/10)

3. Mr. BADBOY – The songs keep on getting brighter as well. While it is a cute and bubbly song, I don’t really fall into it. It didn’t have that much appeal to my tastes (which I admit, are picky at times). I did like how they included a reference to their debut song, Mo Mo Mo. The bright feel makes this a very Summery song. (7/10)

4. SUGAR – The same comments for the above song can be applied to this song as well. Quite a sweet (see what I did there?) song, but it doesn’t have that level of appeal to make me search for this song listen to it. The vocal work was good though. (7/10)

5. Babyface – Babyface is a ridiculously catchy song. It also has a very quirky instrumental, which makes it quite interesting. The vocal work was also quite good in this song. I don’t have much to say about this song, besides that it is awesome and totally a song that I would go back to (9/10)

6. Plop Plop (퐁당퐁당) – Another song with amazing vocal work from the members. When I first saw the tracklist, I was surprised that they would go with a song with such a title. Being the mature person I am, I actually thought that they were referring to the sound of something (you should guess what) dropping into a bowl of water (again, guess what bowl). Never once did it occur to me that they were going for the “drip drop” sound of water. Anyway, the song is much slower compared to the rest, which makes it refreshing on the album. It ended a little too abruptly, which did disrupt the flow of the song for me (it should have faded out). (7/10)

7. Follow Me – While it does have a very generic name, this track is not generic whatsoever. One way to describe the song would be fluffy. It is quite catchy, with the chorus being the main hook of the song. I would love to see a stage performance of this song because it is a great song! (9/10)

8. B.B.B.Boo – Everything in this song sounds amazing and quite cool. The only thing I would change up if I had the rights to do so, would be the very boring verses. Comparing the chorus and the verses, it felt too different and with a very loaded chorus (in terms of instrumental), there wasn’t anything interesting in the verses. Also thought the song was cool and cute at the same time. (8/10)

9. Geeminy – Another great track that also adds to the cute sound that the girls went for in this song, however, it can also be seen as a mature sound from the girls. Compared to the previous song, I liked the verses here. The chorus were much better though, in comparison, as it felt more dynamic and upbeat. The overall sound was much smoother. (9/10)

10. Closer To You (지금 만나러 가요) – The girls finish their first album with a much slower song, almost ballad-like. It has a very sweet melody and adds an extra hint of freshness to the album. I love that elongated note that they included to lead into the chorus. Also thought the instrumental and vocals were quite nice. (8/10)

Overall Album Rating – 8/10

 

Image result for WJSN Happy Moment
Teaser Image

 

 

Leave a Reply

