[Review] Here I Am – HALO

From what I can remember, it has been a while since I have written a review for Halo. I believe the last time was Feels So Good (did not search it up, whatsoever) back in 2015. They have been active in the past year. I just somehow missed their releases last year and before I knew it, it was kind of late for a review. But since I committed more time to the site, I am now here with a review of Here I Am, their latest single.

Here I Am is a pretty funky song. From the very start, the saxophone draws your attention to the song and it feels just right for the brighter months of Summer. For the most part, I thought the song was fine. I totally dig the instrumental and I wouldn’t mind dancing to this song at a party. However, it is not perfect. I feel like if the instrumental built up more and had a better climax, I would totally fall in love with the song. Instead, it felt very ‘safe’ and neutral throughout. It had colour and personality. It just needed some sort of foundation or launching pad. The vocals were quite nice, though, they did seem forgettable. As for the raps, I think they were the best part of the song. They provided intensity and more energy to the song than any other element. The fast-paced lines located in every verse, chorus and bridge added an extra layer to the song. I am not familiar with Halo, compared to other KPOP groups, but with this song, I just want to find out more of their recent songs that I have missed.

Once again, the paleness is back. It makes me think: is this a real ongoing thing that I am observing or do I really need a new phone and/or computer/laptop? It didn’t bother me much here, but I do expect bold and vibrant colours when it comes to songs with a dominating Summer sound. The shakiness of the camera does fit the atmosphere of the song. Overall, the music video isn’t that memorable. Though released yesterday and have replayed it quite a few times already, I don’t have much else to say about the music video.

I thought the dance quite fitting for the song. Though it isn’t anything new or mind-blowing, the choreography suits the fun and party atmosphere, which the song was going towards. The movements were sharp and on point throughout the performance.

Song – 8/10
Music Video – 6/10
Performance – 8/10
Overall Rating – 7.5/10

Leave a Reply

