[Album Review] Flight Log: Departure (5th Mini Album) – GOT7

GOT7 and JYP Entertainment recently announced that their subunit JJ Project will be making their return and over the weekend, it has been confirmed for the 31st of July. While it does make a little more sense to revisit JJ Project’s first release, I decided to go with GOT7’s Flight Log: Departure mini album, which was released in March of 2016. It went on to win the Album of the Year (for the First Quarter) at the GAON Chart Music Awards.

Related image
Flight Log: Departure Album Cover

1..Fly (Title Track)Click here to read the full review of Fly (8/10)

2. Can’t (못하겠어) – This song showcases their vocals quite nicely. All the members sounded crisp and clear as a whistle in the track, applicable to both the vocals and raps, which I liked. The instrumental of this track was easy to the ears. It is relatively quiet with the drum, violins and horns added to give it some character. It was easy to get into but very difficult to get out of your head once you are in. (9/10)

3. See The Light (빛이나) – See The Light has a nice mellow sound, which contrasts nicely with the rest of the tracks. Like the previous song, this one also shows off the abilities of each member. It was the slowest song on the album, but it still had a level of energy to allow it to fit in with the other tracks. If I were to describe the song in my own terms, it is the type where you sway along with its sound, soothing and very calming. (9/10)

4. FISH – Yes, let’s take this small moment to acknowledge the title of the track. How odd. But let’s move back to the content of the song. I personally liked the song. However, there were things that made it awkward. The first verse felt very quiet, in comparison to the rest of the song. JB and Youngjae give it the needed energy through their explosive vocals, which did kick start the experience for the rest of the song. Everything else felt just right, just exclude the chorus. It wasn’t necessarily bad, I just thought a better drop and some sort of melody could have given a more polished feel to the song. (7/10)

5. REWIND – From the get-go, the song blew me away. Parts of the music reminded me of the bands back in the late 90s, such as N.Sync and Back Street Boys. But there was a modern twist, in the form of that epic breakdown. Their vocals and raps were shown off nicely, as well. It was super addictive and catchy, giving me more reasons to return to the track every now and then. (10/10)

6. Beggin On My Knees – Out of all the songs, this one felt like it had the most energy and it did not fail one bit with that aspect.  It had a bright atmosphere, which I thought made it a unique track on this album. What makes it an even more unique track is the lyrics tell a completely different story, which completely contradicts the bright atmosphere. This track provided a knockout with the combination of the instrumental, raps and vocals. (10/10)

7. Something Good – Like the name suggests, the track gives off a feeling that you could describe as ‘Something Good’. That was my bad attempt at making a pun. It has a very smooth sound, which I like. You can imagine yourself in a cafe or bookshop, listening to the song. Their vocals/raps were nice but it wasn’t the standout example on the album. (8/10)

Image result for Home Run got7 cover
Home Run Single Cover

8. Home RunClick here to read the full review for Home Run (8/10)

Overall Album Review – 8.5/10

Flight Log: Departure Teaser Image

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s