[Review] Summer Storm – Jessica Jung

Jessica has made her solo return to mark 10 years since her debut. For those who don’t know, Jessica made her debut in 2007 as part of SNSD or Girl’s Generation. She was removed from the group in 2015 and has been promoting as a solo artist since then under Cordiel Entertainment. Her mini-album is named My Decade, which is named appropriately for her celebrations.

I know for a fact that I have been reviewing every single song Jessica has been releasing since her solo debut. I have been listening to them all but this one caught my attention. Vocally, it is a nice piece. It is not her best piece but her vocals do shine very brightly in the song. That quirky moment in the chorus was the element that got my ears perked up. I don’t know how to exactly describe it but she ended a number of lines in the choruses by going to a higher pitch and in a very sharp way, as well. The instrumental was pretty standard, but it went extremely well with her vocals. Soothing and flowy are words that I would use to describe it.  It isn’t catchy but I keep on coming back for more due to its more simple and easy-going sound.

I like the contrast between the past and the future in the video. The imagery between the trees. The lighting. The various scenes when she is with her boyfriend and when she is alone. Just the clothing she wears between scenes. The video itself wasn’t that flashy, which I thought went well with that soothing nature of the song. And per usual, Jessica looks amazing in the video.

Song – 9/10
Music Video – 9/10 
Overall Rating – 9/10

Leave a Reply

