[Album Review] The Clan Part 2. Guilty (4th Mini Album) – Monsta X

It is time for another ‘Past Album’ review. This time, we turn back to Monsta X, who returned with the fierce Alligator earlier this year. Actually, this album review was written and scheduled to be published around the same time as Alligator’s release. But to avoid clashing, I decided to wait a bit before releasing. And here it is, after a month and a bit! The Clan Part 2. Guilty was released in October of 2016 and it was their second release in The Clan series (which I previously made a music video theory post, as well).

The Clan Part 2. Guilty Album Cover

1..Fighter (Title Track)Click here to read the full review of Fighter. (9/10)

2. Be Quiet – Unlike the title for the song, Be Quiet isn’t quiet in any sense. Instead, it offers loudness and energy with its hip-hop centred sound. The song reminds me of their debut track for its synth-based instrumental. I really like the ‘Be Quiet’ whisper, which still manages to stand out amid all of the loudness that surrounds it. I felt like this could have been the song that allowed the rappers to shine. Instead, they didn’t get much of the song, which I felt was a little disappointing. But despite that, I still thought the raps (and the vocals) were still good elements to the song. (8/10)

3. BlindBlind the blandest dance track on the album for me. I just don’t find it as interesting or exciting as the other dance tracks on the album. Blind seems to have some R&B mixed into it and it resulted in an okay track. But I felt like they could have done more to really make it appealing. The vocals and raps were good but it felt like it could have been stronger. Same could have been said regarding the hook of the track, which I thought was rather weak, resulting in its bland nature. (5/10)

4. QueenQueen seems like it could be an elegant track, but it stands out more for its rough textures. It is also a good hip-hop hype track that really grabs your attention. The rappers are the winners for this track, with the song being built for just them. The vocalists of the group weren’t let down as they had parts that were quite melodic, especially after that brief pause in the bridge. I also liked the ending of the song (or rather, that part of the song as it appears in the track beforehand). Very catchy and a great way to get the hype up. (8/10)

5. White Girl (하얀소녀) – The song tones down the tough and dance-heavy side of the album by opting for an acoustic sound. And this Is much appreciated since the album is quite on the heavy side thus far. Vocals were the focus, with all the members (including Jooheon and I.M) singing in the song. And they give the song a nice delicate touch on top of the acoustic instruments. I thought the harmonies in the song gave the song a beautiful feel. While it is distinctively different from any of the other songs on the album, it is a hidden gem in the midst of the other dance tracks. (9/10)

6. Roller CoasterRoller Coaster returns to the dance side of the album. And like what the name suggests, the song is like a roller coaster. There is a lot going on and there is many twists and turns that are not anticipated. So, repetitiveness is not an issue with this track. And while a correct term to describe the song would be ‘messy’, the song actually comes together nicely, and it is quite pleasant sounding. The song doesn’t showcase their best vocals or rapping but both elements are still good. Overall, I thought it was a nice upbeat song to end the album on. (8/10)

Overall Album Rating – 7.8/10

The Clan Part 2. Guilty Teaser Image

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s