[Double Review] Hate That I Miss You + Pattern – Lee Hae Ri (Davichi)

You may recognise Lee Hae Ri as one-half of the powerhouse duo Davichi, who debuted in 2008 alongside Kang Min Kyung. Skip forward almost 9 years, and Lee Hae Ri officially made her solo debut this year with the release of her first ever solo mini-album, h. Pattern is the pre-release, while Hate That I Miss You is the mini album’s title track.

Hate That I Miss You is your typical ballad. I expected that Lee Hae Ri would go down the ballad route and this is exactly what I had in mind. I did expect a little more to the instrumental, but this is still good. The song’s instrumental is only a piano in the background, which does make it interesting to an extent. But it did become dry quite quickly. But what kept the song going was definitely the vocals. It dominated the song and her voice just blows you away, especially those high notes at the end of the song.
To me, Pattern was the song that stole the show. As I mentioned before, I had expected Lee Hae Ri to release ballads for her solo, since that is what she and her group member is known for. But instead, we got this indie and upbeat track from her that was something completely unexpected from her. Still falling under the umbrella genre of a ballad, the song is amazing to listen to. Her vocals are shown off here as much as they are in Hate That I Miss You but the instrumental gives it a better kick. The song has a very nice melody. Her launch into the chorus and the chorus sounds like a different song altogether from the verses, but they were pulled together with a consistent instrumental, which I loved. It is a simple song (as well) when you listen to it, but it hits all the right notes.

The video for Hate That I Miss You is pretty simple. The artist is just sitting in a room, playing the piano while singing to the song. There isn’t anything else to talk about in the video, besides it is visually a nice video with the camera shots but it doesn’t have much to captivate me with.
Pattern‘s video shows an edgier side to Lee Hae Ri. The visuals and aesthetics in this video are really good, which suits the unique side of the song. There were moments where she maintained eye contact with the camera, which was tad creepy. Throughout the video, she reminded me of a doll. From the way she had a blank facial expression to the way she sat throughout the video. Altogether, the video comes off as pretty creepy, which (to me at least) makes it interesting to watch, although I don’t know what is really going on.

Hate That I Miss You
Song – 8.5/10
Music Video – 7/10
Overall Rating – 8/10

Pattern
Song – 10/10
Music Video – 9/10
Overall Rating – 9.5/10

 

Leave a comment